IELTS – General/Academic

The International English Language Testing System or IELTS is an International standardized test designed to check a test taker’s proficiency in the English language. It is a test for non-native English language speakers. It is jointly managed by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment, and was established in 1989. IELTS is accepted by most Australian, British, Canadian and New Zealand academic institutions, by over 3,000 academic institutions in the United States, and by various professional organizations across the world.

Enhance your exam score by connecting with an expert IELTS Trainer Now!

  • IELTS scores are accepted in 140 countries
  • Millions take IELTS Test annually
  • 9,000 Education Institutes, Professional Registration and Employers worldwide accepts IELTS scores

IELTS test structure

There are two modules of the IELTS:

  • Academic Module and
  • General Training Module
  • IELTS Academic is intended for those who want to enroll in universities and other institutions of higher
  • education and for professionals such as medical doctors and nurses who want to study or practice in an English-speaking country.
  • IELTS General Training is intended for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.

The IELTS test has four parts

  • Listening: 30 minutes (plus 10 minutes’ transfer time)
  • Reading: 60 minutes
  • Writing: 60 minutes
  • Speaking: 11–14 minutes

The test total time is: 2 hours and 55 minutes.

Listening, Reading and Writing are completed in one sitting. The Speaking test may be taken on the same day or up to seven days before or after the other tests.

All test takers take the same Listening and Speaking tests, while the Reading and Writing tests differ depending on whether the test taker is taking the Academic or General Training versions of the test.